Skip to content

Cooking

2 February 2010

I looooove Mac and Cheese.  Love it.  My mom even sent me an entire care package full of boxes of Mac and Cheese since I can’t find it here.  I am out of that and I want more.  But, this time, I’ve decided to try and cook it on my own.  I found this recipe. I actually have never made Mac and Cheese unless it came from a box so I thought I’d give this a try.

Thing is, sometimes it is difficult to find ingredients here in Korea.  Spices and powders aren’t always accessible nor quite the same here as they are back home which is where most of the recipes I find come from.  I went to a great market yesterday and found the two things that are kind of hard to find here: cheese and evaporated milk.

Well, I guess you can find cheese here, but it is usually around $10 for an 8oz block of cheddar.  The only evaporated milk I could find was sweetened, but I thought I’d try it anyway.

It was supposed to look like this:

It didn’t.  It was way worse.  Much clumpier.  Much gooey-er. MUCH more expensive.  And, so not edible (ie- in the trashcan).

I’ll leave it to Kraft from now on.

One Comment leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    3 February 2010 5:58 am

    You lost me at the “sweetened” part–yuck!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

