Skip to content

Prague: The initial tour

10 September 2007

In the few days that I have been here, I seem to have covered some ground. All I’ve seen is the main tourist attractions, but I guess that is as good a place to start as any. After meeting Anna in the street the other day, we decided to go to the main hotel of our program to steal their free WiFi and there we met about 5 other TEFL students. Everyone had planned to do dinner that night so we joined. We hadn’t a clue of were to go so ended up in Old Town Square (right near the Astronomical Clock) and of course sat down to the most expensive tourist restaurant. After gawking at the 600Kc a plate prices (roughly $30) we all decided it was ok since it was our first night and tried to order the cheapest 400Kc plates! Dinner was excellent and as a few had been to Prague before we ventured to a local pub with prices we could handle (30Kc pints= $1.50 beers). After learning the Swedish drinking song from the table of 60 year old men next to us, we headed home on the Metro.

dsc00390.jpg
dsc00391.jpg

Today we had an organized tour from our TEFL program. Unfortunately, it sucked. Our guide is majoring in tourism here in Prague (and really, I am not trying to be rude) but she needs some work. We FLEW through the major sites and her explanations were short and incomplete. Plus, it was a THREE hour tour and I think she said maybe ten sentences throughout and definitely seemed as if she had something better to do. I will post pics, but I can’t tell you a thing about them until I visit them again. All I can say is that these cathedrals and buildings are absolutely unbelievable. My camera doesn’t do any of this justice as it doesn’t pan wide enough to get the whole of it, but it truly is amazing.

dsc00397.jpg

St. Vitus Cathedral…it is HUGE

dsc00401.jpg

Entrance to Prague Castle- the largest castle in the world I read.

dsc00404.jpg

View of Prague from Prague Castle.

So, things are good. School starts today and it will be interesting to see how things go for the next four weeks. I have a feeling my ‘vacation’ is over.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 10 September 2007 8:26 am

    I think in the picture of me you have on here I am a little drunk. I don’t really remember doing this. Hey I hope you are having a blast and that life is going good. I am so excited for you to be doing this. I am also really jealous that you are in Prague, I love that city. The Castle is so cool and the cook does have a good story behind it. Did you find the bombshelter bar? Take care I am going back to working on our nest egg.

  2. Bean permalink
    10 September 2007 6:41 pm

    Umm…I just wrote a comment, but it didn’t post… Anyway, you’re awesome, so glad you are doing the blog. Love ya.

Leave a Reply

