Skip to content

Trying to rack up my numbers

7 February 2008

My initial goal when I first came to Europe was to see and do all. I wanted to visit every country, see every famous monument and/or historical site, get a taste for every culture. I wanted to visit the grave site of my beloved Jim Morrison, stand atop the Eiffel Tower, and bask in the Spanish sun. This, as well as see all those famous places the Griswold family made it to on their European Vacation.

Since I have been here, however, I realize that is quite lofty. Europe is large. Heck, even Central Europe is large. (And, if we are going to go there, so is the Czech Republic, and so is Prague) To see it all is daunting. Daunting and expensive.

But, the nice thing about Europe is that things are so close. About 500km in any direction from Prague you can find yourself immersed in German, Austrian, Polish or Slovakian culture. Not much further than that you can touch Italy, France, Hungary and more. With all the train and bus lines, as well as budget airfares, you would be amiss to stay in one place for too long.

Yes, I am trying to justify some recent purchases…

Thus, I am making my way around in the next few months. I am going to be called back to Germany to pick up my visa in the next couple of weeks and while there would love to go deeper into either Berlin or Munich. While these are not close to one another, nor to Dresden, I figure that if I am in Germany, might as well really get in to Germany.

Then, thanks to a lovely promotion by SkyEurope, four of us are going to Amsterdam for the price of two (on a Valentine’s promo) in mid-March. We heard that Brussels is too business like so skipped that to experience the high life of Amsterdam :)

Another recent purchase was a ticket to see Radiohead at Malahide Castle in Dublin. Um, yes, it is going to be totally. friggin. cool. I didn’t know if I would make it to the great green lands of Great Britain the United Kingdom? IRELAND, but looks as if I am.

When TWBR boys were here, I snooped through their passports. They have stamps from half of the world, visas from about a quarter of the world, and as many inserts as allowed. Seeing those passports inspired me to work on my own. I have just a few measly stamps at the moment, but soon, I will seem worldly. Soon.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 8 February 2008 6:12 am

    wow, I am crazy jealous!

  2. Randolph Carter permalink
    9 February 2008 8:40 pm

    Dublin isn’t in britain…

  3. Lele permalink*
    9 February 2008 9:38 pm

    Has anyone tried to keep straight the difference between Great Britain, the United Kingdom, the British Isles, and all the other names of that group of countries/islands/whatever else?!

    Dublin is in Ireland. I will leave it at that since I can’t remember what part of Ireland is intact with the rest of this area. Thanks for the notice.

  4. Megan permalink
    11 February 2008 7:12 pm

    Um, excuse me but you are going to see Radiohead?!?!?!? In a castle??? SO NOT ALLOWED! That is MY band! Mine! :)

Leave a Reply

