Skip to content

No longer a tourist

26 March 2008

I was walking home last night when a group of lost ex-pats caught my eye and I stopped, pulled out a headphone blasting music in my ear and asked if I could help. Strangely enough, I could.

The other day while waiting for my tram, a woman asked me for direction to the castle–in Spanish–and I answered her– in Spanish.

So, not only do I know my way around this town, but I am a multi-lingual directions giver.

Plus, my addiction to Coffee Heaven brings me often to cafe here where I can order in Czech and they now know who I am and what I will order without asking.

So, not only am I spending half my salary on coffee…I am a regular somewhere.

I think I have surpassed my tourist status here in Prague. In fact, I know I have as I received notice that my long-term visa is now ready and my status has been upgraded from tourist.

I was planning on spending the weekend in Berlin, but the weather here has been unstable at best and unbelievably cold at all times. So, I think I will forgo Berlin this time and instead stroll around Prague with an all knowing look on my face just waiting to be asked for directions.

Rovně!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 26 March 2008 4:52 pm

    Congratulations! It must be time to find a new location! :)

  2. 27 March 2008 3:04 am

    lele that is really awesome. I am jealous and impressed!

Leave a Reply

