Skip to content

Down she goes

4 April 2008
tags:

Guess what I did this morning?!

I fell.

Again.

If I am not careful, I am going to end up as one of the crippled geriatric community here in Prague.  Similar to the older men and women meandering from their flat carrying their bags, hobbling with their canes, wheezing their way from point A to B. I am fairly certain these folks don’t go much further than to their local grocer, but that being only a couple blocks from their house can take hours with the shuffled mini-steps they take.

I am pretty sure they are constantly thinking about how not to fall and eat it.  Yet, as I have illustrated before, I have seen several tumble and I think that only adds to their hunchbacked, limping, wincing-in-pain state.  Seriously, if I stay here much longer I will probably age about 50 years.

I knew I was going to fall.  When it rains in Prague the streets are slick.  And, when I wear heels, it is a double threat.  So, I was just waiting.  When it happened, it didn’t hurt as bad as some of the other tumbles I took, and I wasn’t really all that surprised.  I was a bit flustered though as a man helped me up and asked me in Czech if I was ok and I answered him with a Spanish-English-Czech mix of something like: “Ano. Fine, gracias.”

Happy Friday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 4 April 2008 8:32 pm

    Ah, you poor thing! Hope you don’t bruise easily!

    ;-0

Leave a Reply

