Skip to content

Early morning booty call

3 July 2009

I’ve been in my new place for 2 nights.  The first night I was awoken every two hours by noise on the street (I am 17 floors up so how this happens I have no idea), thunder storms, early morning phone calls from drunken colleagues who just wanted to chat, and the sweltering heat.

Night two, was much the same.  Noise, heat, and randomness.  But this time, at about 5am, my door buzzer goes off.

Here in Korea there is a video surveillance system were the person who rings your bell pops up on a TV screen in your house in which you can see and talk to whoever is standing just 15 feet away on the other side of your door.

The bell woke me up and I peeled my head off my pillow and didn’t see anyone in the screen so I figured it was just a doorbell ditcher.  Then it rang again.  And this time I saw a hand move away and smoke lingering in the screen.  I still didn’t answer and figured they would get the point that no one was home until the third time it rang there was a silhouette of a man smoking a cigarette doing the drunk sway back and forth.  He was definitely trying to look suave and not like an annoying drunk doorbell ringer.

I picked up the phone and said, “Hello.  Can I help you?” in Korean.  And, he’s like, “Park Seo Young?” (A woman’s name?) and I say “No.  Goodbye.”  And hang up.  But, he starts knocking so I had to get out of bed and go open the door to this creepy cigarette smoking man standing outside my door, clearly drunk, and definitely on a booty call run at FIVE IN THE DAMNED MORNING.

He had the, “Oh my god.  Where’s the girl I am supposed to be shacking up with and who are you?” I explained I lived here now and after he tried to peek into my new place to make sure I wasn’t lying he gave me the eyes like, “So, how you doin’?”

New life in the dorms.  Oh, how I didn’t miss it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

