Skip to content

Dear Korea,

23 June 2010

I just wanted to thank you for the alarming states you have put me in lately.  Like last week, when I was walking home in a zen bubble after a beautiful yoga practice, I really enjoyed the loud booming noises coupled with the concerned ajoshis and ajumas coming to the street side to see what the noise was.  I was sure Bucheon was being bombed.  Only after briskly walking in a bedazzled state did I see the low flying fireworks that were creating the sonic booms.

I’d also like to thank you for your fanatic Red Devil supporters.  While I was comfortably sleeping last night, I woke in a cold sweat to shouts and screams from outside.  I jumped up, pulled back my curtain and soon realized that people were not screaming for their lives, rather they were cheering for the 3.30am start of the Korea-Nigeria soccer game.  That went on for 2 hours.

So, I’d also like to thank you for your crappy instant coffee to help keep me awake this morning because my coffee shop was closed  likely because the barista was one of those screaming throughout the early morning game.

But, know why I want to thank you the most?!  Because you have the damn cutest kids on the planet who find me on my walk to school and grab to hold my hand and walk me in while jabbering away in the cutest broken English ever helping me to release the anxiety of the impending death and doom that looms over Korea.

Happy Wednesday!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

