Skip to content

Oh, the places we’ll go

25 January 2012

So, after a mere 3.5 years in the Land of the Morning Calm I’ve decided to end my tenure as a wanna-be Korean and move on. This is a very bittersweet moment for me as the past 3.5 years have been ah-maz-ing. I have been fortunate enough to come to Korea and experience its culture, its people, its food and fall in love with it enough to FORCE myself to leave and try something new.

What’s that something new, you ask? Well, I too would like to know.

I’d like to have a well thought out plan to my post-Korea life, but I actually only have a clue to about the following three months and even that is pushing it! But, three months is a lot of time to do a lot of stuff and that’s what I hope to do.

My plan is to do this: Go. Explore. Engage. Learn. Love. I’m not doing anything no one before me hasn’t done (wow, so many negatives in that sentence…you get it? aka “I’m not reinventing the wheel.”), but that doesn’t make me any less excited about it.

And, clearly I’m excited about it…I’m blogging again!

First I’ll journey to Hong Kong.

I hope to meet with some friends (currently living in Shanghai) for a mini-reunion along the beautiful banks as we drink a beer and look at Hong Kong’s sprawling skyline.

After a few days there, I’m off to Yangon, Myanmar.

To be honest, I don’t know what much to expect of Myanmar but I loved to read Lonely Planet’s quick take on it. It has recently undergone a political shift and tourism is starting to open up more now than ever before. I’m currently in the process of obtaining my visa and finding places to stay for the first few days and what I read again and again is how warm and welcoming the Burmese people are despite living under an oppressive military regime for so long. I truly can’t wait for this part of the adventure.

When this is all said and done, I’ll head to Thailand to meet Justy and Nicole!

I’m thinking there will be some elephant riding, some beaching, some monkey swinging, some scuba diving…also, I know I am going to do some yoga down south and get me a traditional bamboo tattoo (shhhh…don’t tell dad!).

That’s all I have officially booked. After this I plan to hit up Laos, Cambodia, Singapore, Kuala Lumpur, and of course Bali!

At this point, the only money I am certain to have is the amount to get me to Mexico to one of my best friend’s wedding at the end of May. After a weekend of some long overdue celebrating with best friends, I’ll hope to have something to get me back to Colorado.

If not, I’ll be making tamales and surfing on the seashores of Mexico until I do.

***Oh, and HUGE caveat! This is what I WANT to do. Not set in stone. I could jump on a plane with Justy and Nicole and be back in Colorado in time for…April Fool’s? But really…I could. No joke.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 26 January 2012 5:44 am

    I’m sure it doesn’t always feel this way but your life is many people’s dreams come true! Good luck on your adventure!

    • 26 January 2012 9:29 am

      Ah, thanks Alison! It certainly works for me :)

  2. 28 January 2012 11:29 am

    Ditto Alison. This looks amazing. I hope you keep blogging so the rest of us can live through you!

Leave a Reply

